5 Fastest Run Chases in T20 World Cup History You Need to Know!

The arrival of T20 cricket has altered the way the game is played, especially the batting style undergoing a massive change. Players switched towards aggressive and creative stroke execution, as batters started to experiment with a wide range of unorthodox shots like scoops, ramps and reverse sweeps. Mainly, the demand for power-hitting batters has increased to a great extent because they are capable of accumulating maximum runs within the specified overs, often going for boundaries with incredible consistency.

Most importantly, the batting sides have frequently exhibited their superiority by achieving the fastest chases in T20 World Cups. Recently, England’s dynamic approach while chasing a target of 48 runs in just 3.1 overs against Oman recorded the quickest run chase in the shortest format of the white-ball cricket World Cup. Similarly, it would be interesting to delve deeper to find out the top 5 fastest run chases in the history of T20 World Cup history.

Top 5 quickest run chase records in T20 World Cup

Restricting the first batting teams to a double-digit score allowed the chasing sides to achieve the target as quickly as possible and here are the top 5 records in the T20 World Cup history you need to know:

1. England vs Oman (2024):

Date and DayVenue1st innings score (Oman)2nd innings score (England)Result
13th June 2024 (Thursday) Sir Vivian Richards StadiumOMAN: 47-10 in 13.2 oversENG: 50-2 in 3.1 oversEngland won by 8 wickets with 117 balls to spare

After a disappointing start to the T20 World Cup 2024 campaign with a washout game against Scotland and a loss to Australia, England was in a must-win situation to boost their net run rate. This was the only possible way for the defending champions to stay alive in the Super 8s qualification race. Their bowlers namely Jofra Archer (3-12 in 3.4 overs), Mark Wood (3-12 in 3 overs), and Adil Rashid (4-11 in 4 overs) wrapped up Oman’s innings for just 47 runs. England were set off with an aggressive intent to chase the target instantly and despite losing the two wickets at an early stage, Jos Buttler and Jonny Bairstow chased down the target within 3.1 overs. As a result, England not only secured a massive win but also accomplished the record for the fastest run chase by a full-member nation in the T20I format.

2. Sri Lanka vs Netherlands (2014):

Date and DayVenue1st innings score (Netherlands)2nd innings score (Sri Lanka )Result
24th March 2014 (Monday) Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury StadiumNED: 39-10 in 3.2 oversSL: 40-1 in 5 oversSri Lanka won by 9 wickets with 90 balls to spare

Sri Lankan skipper Lasith Malinga’s decision to bowl first resulted in complete dominance against the Netherlands by restricting them to just 40 runs.

The absolute aggressive intent from these bowlers namely Angelo Mathews (3-16 in 4 overs), Ajantha Mendis (3-12 in 2.3 overs), Lasith Malinga (2-5 in 2 overs), and Nuwan Kulasekara (1-2 in 2 overs) dismantled Netherlands batting line-up. In response, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan decided to chase the target instantly even after losing the wicket of their opening batter Kusal Perera.

3. Australia vs Namibia (2024):

Date and DayVenue1st innings score (Namibia)2nd innings score (Australia )Result
11th June 2024 (Tuesday) Sir Vivian Richards StadiumNAM: 72-10 in 7 oversAUS: 74-1 in 5.4 oversAustralia won by 9 wickets with 86 balls to spare

Adam Zampa’s masterclass spell of 4-12 in 4 overs, supported by other bowlers’ impressive bowling figures namely Josh Hazlewood (2-18 in 4 overs), Marcus Stoinis (2-9 in 3 overs), Pat Cummins (1-16 in 3 overs) and Nathan Ellis (1-12 in 3 overs), helped to restrict Namibia’s innings to just 72 runs.

Australian opening batter David Warner was set off to a destructive start by scoring 20 runs from just 8 balls (including 3 fours and 1 six). After Warner’s dismissal, Travis Head (34 runs from 17 balls- including 5 fours and 2 sixes) and Mitchell Marsh (18 runs from 9 balls- including 3 fours and 1 six), chased down the target within the powerplay overs and confirmed their spot in the Super Eights.

4. Australia vs Bangladesh (2021):

Date and DayVenue1st innings score (Bangladesh)2nd innings score (Australia )Result
04th November 2021 (Thursday) Dubai International Cricket StadiumBAN: 73-10 in 15 oversAUS: 78-2 in 6.2 oversAustralia won by 8 wickets with 82 balls to spare

The match between Bangladesh and Australia proved to be a completely one-sided contest. Batting first, Bangladesh weren’t able to tackle the disciplined bowling attack of the Aussies which concluded their innings for just 73 runs. As an answer, the Australian skipper Aaron Finch was set off to an aggressive start by scoring 40 runs from just 20 balls (including 2 fours and 4 sixes). After Finch’s dismissal, Mitchell Marsh (16 runs from 5 balls- including 2 fours and 1 six) and David Warner (18 runs from 14 balls- including 3 fours) achieved the target within 6.2 overs, thereby recording one of the fastest chases in the T20 World Cup.

5. India vs Scotland (2021):

Date and DayVenue1st innings score (Scotland)2nd innings score (India )Result
05th November 2021 (Friday) Dubai International Cricket StadiumSCO: 85-10 in 17.4 oversIND: 89-2 in 6.3 oversIndia won by 8 wickets with 81 balls remaining

Indian bowlers Ravindra Jadeja (3-15 in 4 overs) and Mohammed Shami (3-15 in 3 overs) played a crucial role in restricting Scotland to 85-10 in 17.4 overs. Additionally, Jasprit Bumrah (2-10 in 3.4 overs) and Ravichandran Ashwin (1-29 in 4 overs) played a supportive role to grab wickets instantly.

The opening batters KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma (30 runs from 16 balls- including 5 fours and 1 six) played an explosive inning to ensure India reached the target within 6.3 overs. Especially, KL Rahul’s 19-ball-50 (including 6 fours and 3 sixes), is one of the fastest half-century in the T20 World Cup history.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *