Ashwin picks Australia as hot favourites to win ICC World Cup 2023

Ravichandran Ashwin sits atop the Test bowler rankings in ICC rankings, but his recent comments won’t go down well with India cricket fans. The experienced cricketer recently tipped Australia as favourites to win the ICC World Cup 2023 to be hosted in India. The fact that Ashwin believes another country will win the World Cup on India’s soil is shocking.

What Did Ravi Ashwin Say?

Ravi Ashwin commented that Australia are one of the favourites to clinch the ICC World Cup in this edition:

Going into the ODI World Cup, Australia are one of the favourites. I know people around the world cricket will keep saying India are favourites — in fact, all the cricketers around the world will use this as a strategy and say India are favourites before every ICC event. They use this strategy to reduce the pressure on themselves and put extra pressure on us. India could well be one of the favourites, but Australia also are a powerhouse,”

Ashwin also lent his voice about the development of powerhouses in world cricket since the ICC World Cup’s first edition:

I think World Cricket’s landscape changed from the West Indies being the powerhouse after that World Cup. After that 1983 World Cup, we came close in 1987 as well, but after the 1987 World Cup, Australia became the powerhouse of World Cricket, and they continue to be one of the powerhouses of World Cricket,”

Many fans disagree with Ravi Ashwin’s prediction; however, it is difficult to fault Australia’s talent pool ahead of the prestigious event. Australia will begin their campaign to clinch another World Cup trophy against hosts India on October 8, 2023. Check out Australia’s complete round-robin schedule in the next section.

Australia Full ICC World Cup 2023 Round-Robin Schedule

Sun, 08 October, 2023India v AustraliaChidambaram, Chennai
Thu, 12 October, 2023Australia v South AfricaBRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Mon, 16 October, 2023Australia v Sri LankaBRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Fri, 20 October, 2023Australia v PakistanM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Wed, 25 October, 2023Australia v NetherlandsArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Sat, 28 October, 2023Australia  v New ZealandHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
Sat, 04 November, 2023England v AustraliaNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Tue, 07 November, 2023Australia v AfghanistanWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Sat, 11 November, 2023Australia v BangladeshMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Gahunje

Provisional Australia World Cup Squad

Pat Cummins (captain), Adam Zampa, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Sean Abbott, Steve Smith, Travis Head

ODI World Cup Winners List  

Six (6) teams have won the ODI World Cup since its inaugural edition in 1975:

TeamNumber of ODI World Cup TitlesYears of ODI World Cup Won
Australia51987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies21975, 1979
India21983, 2011
Sri Lanka11996

It is evident that Australia has more ICC ODI WC titles than any other team in history.  With such a massive record, Ashwin’s assessment of their likely performance may not be out of place.

Ravichandran Ashwin Career Stats

R. Ashwin has one of the most impressive records in several departments for India. Apart from being one of the country’s top bowlers of all time, he also holds decent batting and fielding numbers for the Men in Blue and many other teams.

R. Ashwin Bowling Stats

List A1731719352724223131.354.6440.4100

R. Ashwin Batting and Fielding Stats

List A1731032713467917.71174077.350410413

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *