ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2021: All you need to know

Today we will discuss the fixtures, squads, reserve days, and everything else you may like to keep tabs on for this T20 World Cup. On this marquee event top-notch cricketers compete as a team to take the Champions title home.

The masterpiece event is scheduled to finish in Dubai, 14th October. Without a doubt, our final contenders won’t leave any stone unturned to top off the last T20 World Cup conclusion. The starting match was held in Oman Cricket Academy ground.

First: The tournament format

The T20 World Cup 2021 takes place in total of three stages: Round one, Super 12, and Knockout stage.

Round 1

In the first qualifying round, teams compete for the four vacant spots in the Super 12. Round one consists of:

  • 2019 qualifier: three teams
  • One out of two automatic qualifiers

They are divided into Group A and B as given below. The team compete once with each other and two out of each will progress to another stage that brings us to our next stage, Super 12.

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Ireland

Group B: Oman Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Bangladesh

Super 12

In the second part of the tournament six teams go up against each other. The group features:

  • Four automatic qualifiers
  • MRF Tyres International Cricket Council (ICC) ratings- top 7 team
  • Two qualifiers from each group, previous round.

Much like round one, each team plays once in the stage and progresses to the knockout stage that is semifinals and finals.

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Sri-Lanka, and Bangladesh.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Namibia, and Scotland.

Second Total teams and Point system

16 teams compete for the finals.

Point system

This standard system applies to all of the stages.

  • Winning a match- two points
  • Losing a match- Zero points
  • In case of no result (tie, abandonment, wash- out)- one point.

Let’s say a lot of teams end up scoring same points. In that scenario, top-two teams will be picked on the basis of; net-run-rate (NRR), total wins, and head-to-head.

Third: Reserve days

Besides the semi-final and final, no other matches have reserve days. With every effort possible the knockout stages will start and finish on the allocated days. Even overs will be reduced if necessary (a minimum of five overs for each team). In case the match is abandoned and cannot further proceed:

  • Semifinal abandoned: Higher in Super 12 stage qualifies to the finals.
  • Final abandoned: the two contestants will share the trophy.

Fourth: Super over

Two teams with same score match goes to super over, if the match ends in tie. It will be the same, the match will go to super over till one of them wins.

Fifth: Schedules of the tournament

Round one, the first qualifier began on October 17 and ended on October 22 2021. Super 12 has been gone from October 23 and will end on November 7, 2021. Finally, the knock-out stage consists of two semifinals and one final. First semifinal: November 10, second semifinal: November 12, and Finals on November 14.

Sixth: Venues

Round one qualifier concluded on Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Amerat Abu Dhabi, Al Amerat, and Sheikh Zayed Stadium. Super 12 and the rest will commence on the stadiums of Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Dubai.

Seven: Spectators

Although the crowds will get to enjoy the event live only 70% of the seating capacity will be filled. (Covid-safety measures)

Eighth: Prize Money

  • Winner UST $1.6 million
  • Semifinalist: USD 4,00,000
  • Runners Up: USD 8,00,000

Other Benefits during the tournament:

  • Mental-Health Assistance, 24 -hours by International Cricket Council (ICC)
  • Swimming pool
  • Golf courses
  • Close quarters with loved ones

Reserve Players:

Group 1:

England Reserve Players: Liam Dawson, James Vince, and Reece Topley

Australia Reserve Players: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, and Daniel Sams

South Africa Reserve Players: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, and Lizaad Williams

West Indies Reserve Players: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, and Akeal Hosein

Bangladesh Reserve Players: Animul Islam Biplob and Rubel Hossain

Group 2:

India Reserve Players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Axar Patel

Pakistan (Traveling) Reserve Players:  Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir

New Zealand Reserve Players: Adam Milne

Afghanistan Reserve Players: Sharafuddin Ashraf, Samiullah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, and Fazal Haq Farooqi

Namibia Reserve Players: Mauritius Ngupita

Scotland Reserve Players: Michael Jones and Chris Sole

Wrapping UP

This is all we have for today; I hope the information above gives you a clearer picture of the 220 World Cup and how it works. enjoy the game and best of luck if you decide to bet on the odds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *