IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023: Team India’s 6-run win to seal the series with 4-1

Finally, two weeks after the 2023 World Cup finals between India and Australia, the final phase of the series has been wrapped up with the IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 match at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

Team India’s 6-run win helped them seal the 5-match T20I series with 4-1. A fantastic bowling effort integrated with Shreyas Iyer’s half-century posed an intense challenge for the Aussies.

The 5th T20I  match was supposed to be held atDr. Y. S. Rajashekar Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium. The declaration of the Telangana assembly election results consequently initiated a shift in venue from Hyderabad to Bengaluru.

Suryakumar Yadav, as a debutant captain has shown great maturity in winning the series by leading the young side brilliantly against the defending champions.

However, the Australians have managed to avoid a complete whitewash in the series by winning the 3rd T20I match of this series with Glenn Maxwell’s sensational 4th T20I century.

Eventually, Maxwell’s absence in the last 2 games of the T20I series made Australians struggle with the chase against the hosts.

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023: Toss and playing XI changes

Surprisingly, Australian skipper Matthew Wade, for the fourth time in this series, has consecutively won the toss. On a chasing pitch, the men-in-blue were invited to bat first.

Similarly, both teams have made a single change in their playing XI. Nathan Ellis was included in place of Cameron Green.

Similarly, Deepak Chahar’s return to his home due to a medical emergency has provided an opportunity for Arshdeep Singh into the playing XI, who later played a crucial role during the final over of the IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 match.

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 Team Indias Batting

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023: Team India’s Batting

Team India experienced a collapsed start by losing wickets instantly of their best performers of this series below a 100-run mark such as:

  1. Yashasvi Jaiswal ( 21 runs from 15 balls: including 1 four and 2 sixes): Dismissed by Jason Behrendorff at 33-1 in 3.6 overs.
  2. Ruturaj Gaikwad ( 10 runs from 12 balls: including 2 fours): Dismissed by Ben Dwarshuis at 33-2 in 4.3 overs.
  3. Suryakumar Yadav ( 5 runs from 7 balls): Dismissed by Ben Dwarshuis at 46-3 in 6.5 overs.
  4. Rinku Singh ( 6 runs from 8 balls): Dismissed by Tanveer Sangha at 26-1 in 4 overs.
  5. Jitesh Sharma ( 24 runs from 16 balls): Dismissed by Aaron Hardie at 97-5 in 13.1 overs.

Axar Patel and Shreyas Iyer steadied the innings by sewing a 46-run partnership.

Jason Behrendorff was able to dismiss Axar Patel after scoring 31 runs from 21 balls( including 2 fours and 1 six).

Later, Shreyas Iyer’s half-century of 53 runs from 37 balls( including 5 fours and 2 sixes), guided India safely to a decent total of 160-8 in 20 overs.

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 Australias Batting

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023: Australia’s Batting

Australian opener Travis Head started off the 2nd innings explosively by smashing a hattrick of fours that resulted in 14 runs scored from the first over bowled by Arshdeep Singh.

Mukesh Kumar grabbed the wicket of Josh Philippe to control the innings. Furthermore, Ravi Bishnoi dismissed Travis Head( 28 runs from 18 balls- including 5 fours and 1 six). The game-changer for the Aussies had to depart at an early stage of the chase.

The 47-run partnership between Tim David and Ben McDermott kept the chase alive for the Aussies.

Ben McDermott smashed 5 huge sixes to score 54 runs from just 36 balls. Though Arshdeep Singh conceded many runs initially, he was successful in taking the crucial wicket of Ben McDermott.

Moreover, the Australian skipper Matthew Wade’s performance made the contest thrilling till the final over of the 2nd innings.

Arshdeep Singhs Final Over

Arshdeep Singh’s Final Over: A Game-changing moment of the IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 match

Australia required 10 runs from 6 balls to win the IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023 match. With Matthew Wade’s intent to chase the target, Arshdeep Singh under pressure completely controlled his nerves to defend the target.

Let’s decode the final over of the 2nd innings between India and Australia bowled by Arshdeep Singh:

1st Ball: Matthew Wade was unable to strike the ball and wasn’t given a wide. The captain deemed it to be a wide ball, as it went above his head.

2nd Ball: With 10 runs from 5 balls, Matthew Wade couldn’t strike the yorker ball with perfect timing, leading to a dot ball.

3rd Ball: Matthew Wade mistimed the shot by attempting to clear over the boundaries. Shreyas Iyer’s catch departed Matthew Wade after scoring 22 runs from 15 balls( including 4 fours).

4th Ball: With 10 runs from 3 balls, Jason Behrendorff manages to just take a quick single,

5th Ball: As 9 runs were required from 2 balls, Nathan Ellis couldn’t play a big shot. Moreover, the funniest part was that the ball struck the umpire Ellis drills on his right thigh which prevented a straight boundary. Nathan Ellist managed to rotate the strike by just taking another single. 

6th Ball: The Indian fans along with their team were happy with the equation reducing to 8 runs from just 1 ball, which was completely impossible for the Aussies. Arshdeep Singh ensured not to deliver any extras by allowing Jason Behrendorff to take a single. Ultimately, Team India defeated Australia by 6 runs to clinch the 5-match T20I trophy.

IND vs AUS 5th T20I 2023: Overall Facts

Conclusively, the Australian cricket team finally returns to their home ground after spending 2 months on Indian soil. In this period, Australia lost the 3-match ODI and 5-match T20I series against India. But the Aussies will fly back with a joyful moment of winning their 6th World Cup Title against the men-in-blue.

On the other hand, the young players gained priceless experience against the defending champions to improve their talent and secure their spot in the forthcoming T20 World Cup tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav and his men will travel to South Africa for the upcoming 3-match T20I series against the Proteas. Exactly, a week later the young cricketers under SKY’s leadership have another challenge ahead of them to defeat the toughest opposition at their home ground.

Can Suryakumar Yadav prove his best captaincy skills by defeating South Africa?

Is it possible for these youngsters to secure their spot for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024?


Can South Africa defeat the visitors on their home ground?

The exciting contest between both teams starting from 10th December 2023 (Sunday), reveals the answers to the aforementioned questions…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *