IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: South Africa leads the series with 1-0!

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: Proteas secured a roaring 5-wicket victory against the men-in-blue during the 2nd T20I match to lead the 3-match T20I series with 1-0. After the opening game washed out at Kingsmead, Durban, the rain threatened to interrupt the 2nd T20I game.

South Africa had to chase the revised target of 152 runs in 15 overs after enforcing the DLS method.

Rinku Singh’s maiden half-century along with Suryakumar Yadav’s 17th T20I fifty steered India to a total of 180-7 in 19.3 overs.

Before completing the 1st innings with the 3 balls remaining, severe rain suspended the game at St George’s Park, Gqeberha.  

Moreover, Gerald Coetzee was on a hat–trick, taking the wickets of Jadeja and Arshdeep sequentially. Unexpectedly, the rain once again played spoilsport in the game.

Catch the innumerable intriguing highlights and moments of IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 in detail…

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: Toss result

South African skipper Aiden Markram invited the visitors to bat first on a huge ground. Unlike the shorter boundaries in India, it was a challenging task for the men-in-blue to transmit the ball above the ropes.

Though Suryakumar Yadav was excited batting first, the South African batsmen without even tearing a sweat chased the target under the revised playing conditions.

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: Playing XI of both teams

Here are the playing XI of both teams during the IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 match:


  1. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Tilak Varma
  4. Suryakumar Yadav(Captain)
  5. Rinku Singh
  6. Jitesh Sharma(Wicket-Keeper)
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Kuldeep Yadav
  9. Mohammed Siraj
  10. Arshdeep Singh
  11. Mukesh Kumar

Surprisingly, the men-in-blue opted to skip the services of Ishan Kishan, Ravi Bishnoi, and Shreyas Iyer in their Playing XI. Also, Ruturaj Gaikwad had to miss the game due to illness.


  1. Matthew Breetzke
  2. Reeza Hendricks
  3. Aiden Markram(Captain)
  4. Heinrich Klaasen(Wicket-Keeper)
  5. David Miller
  6. Tristan Stubbs
  7. Marco Jansen
  8. Andile Phehlukwayo
  9. Gerald Coetzee
  10. Lizaad Williams
  11. Tabraiz Shamsi

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: INDIA BATTING

Both the Indian openers- Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill were dismissed at an early stage without even scoring a run.

Moreover, Tilak Varma’s catch after Yashavi’s dismissal was dropped by David Miller during the 4th ball of the first over.

The 49-run tailored partnership between Tilak Varma and Suryakumar Yadav rejuvenated India’s innings from a shaky start.

Gerald Coetzee was ultimately able to conclude Tilak Varma’s fiery show of 29 runs from 20 balls ( including 4 fours and 1 six).

Nevertheless, the promising partnership of 70 runs between SKY and Rinku Singh powered India’s innings.

At one stage, Team India seemed to reach a total of above 200 runs. But, Tabraiz Shamsi cracked the game by grabbing the crucial wicket of the Indian skipper. Suryakumar Yadav had to depart after an explosive innings of 56 runs from 36 balls ( including 5 fours and 3 sixes).

Rinku Singh’s maiden half-century as well as his career-best T20I score of 68 runs from 39 balls( including 9 fours and 3 sixes), on a slow pitch.

Before India could conclude the innings, the umpires had called off for the covers due to the intense rain.

Gerald Coetzee’s 32-3 in 4.4 overs, prevented India from accumulating a huge total.


IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: SOUTH AFRICA BATTING

The Proteas rapidly started off the 2nd innings to chase the target of 152 runs in 20 overs.

South African opener Reeza Hendricks scored 49 runs from 27 balls( including 8 fours and 1 six).

Subsequently, Aiden Markram played a blistering knock of 30 runs from 17 balls( including 4 fours and 1 six) boosting his team’s confidence. But, Mukesh Kumar captured the South African skipper’s wicket at 96-2 in 7.5 overs.

As a result, the other South African batsmen were set off to the chase without even breaking into an effort.

The only moment when South African batsmen were under pressure was after the instant dismissals of Reeza Hendricks and Heinrich Klaasen.

David Miller brought back his team into the chase with his crucial knock of 17 runs from 12 balls( including 1 four and 1 six).

Finally, Andile Phehlukwayo scored 10 runs from 4 balls by smashing a six to finish the match in style.

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: Noteworthy Facts and Stats

Here are the amazing facts and stats of both teams observed during the IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023:

  1. For the 3rd time, both the Indian openers were dismissed for a duck in the T20Is.
  2.  Suryakumar Yadav is the 4th batsman to reach more than 2000 runs within the fewest innings in T20Is. With 56 innings, Suryakumar Yadav tallied with Virat Kohli’s record and gathered 2041 runs in T20I matches.
  3. SKY achieved his 3rd highest score against South Africa in T20Is. Moreover, Suryakumar Yadav ( 4 fifties ) tallies and joins the list of  the most 50+ scores in T20Is against the Proteas:
    1. Jonny Bairstow: 13 innings
    2. Mohammad Rizwan: 11 innings
    3. David Warner: 15 innings
    4. Suryakumar Yadav: 5 innings

IND vs SA 2nd T20I 2023 Highlights: Overall Facts

Ultimately, the slow pitch was fastened with the intense rain coming into action before the commencement of 2nd innings.

Moreover, the initial and crucial partnership of 42 runs from just 17 balls between Hendricks and Breetzke, snatched the game completely from Team India.

The third and final T20I series of the match will be played on 14th December 2023( Thursday) at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

Team India is in a must-win situation to secure a victory in the forthcoming game. A triumph for the men-in-blue will level the 3-match T20I series with 1-1.

Even if the upcoming match gets washed out due to intense rain, South Africa still wins the series by 1-0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *