IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: SKY’s magnificent ton and Kuldeep’s 5-wicket haul level the series with 1-1

IND vs SA 3rd T20I 2023 Highlights: Indian skipper Suryakumar Yadav’s 4th T20I century propels his team to a dominating victory of 106 runs against the Proteas on their home ground.

SKY’s brilliant ton not only saved India from a complete whitewash but also created many sensational records.

Moreover, Suryakumar Yadav tallies the record of Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell by achieving his 4th century in the shorter format of the game.

SKY as a captain and fierce batsman, led his team from the front in a must-win situation for Team India at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. Even a washout, similar to the first game could have resulted in South Africa winning the 3-match T20I series.

South African batsmen, unlike in the previous match, couldn’t chase a high target to seal the series with a win.

Birthday Boy- Kuldeep Yadav’s 5-wicket haul restricted South Africa to a double-digit score.

Interestingly, Suryakumar Yadav grabbed both the awards of “Player of the Match” as well as “Player of the Series”.

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: Toss Outcome

South African skipper Aiden Markram once again invited the men-in-blue to bat first on a high-scoring pitch.

The Indian skipper Suryakumar Yadav, after losing the toss expressed that he was thrilled to bat first at this venue. Also, SKY planned to post a mammoth total and defend, which ultimately turned out to be a favorable moment for Team India.

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: Playing XI of both teams

Team India continued with the same playing XI as the previous match.

Contrarily South Africa has made 3 changes as Tristan Stubbs, Gerald Coetzee, and Marco Jansen were rested. The substitutes include Donovan Ferreira, Keshav Maharaj, and the debutant player- Nandre Burger

Indian Playing XI:

  1. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Tilak Varma
  4. Suryakumar Yadav(Captain)
  5. Rinku Singh
  6. Jitesh Sharma(Wicket-Keeper)
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Arshdeep Singh
  9. Mohammed Siraj
  10. Kuldeep Yadav
  11. Mukesh Kumar

South African Team Playing XI:

  1. Reeza Hendricks
  2. Matthew Breetzke
  3. Aiden Markram(Captain)
  4. Heinrich Klaasen(Wicket-Keeper)
  5. David Miller
  6. Donovan Ferreira
  7. Andile Phehlukwayo
  8. Keshav Maharaj
  9. Lizaad Williams
  10. Tabraiz Shamsi
  11. Nandre Burger
IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights INDIA Batting

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: INDIA Batting

Team India wasn’t set with a great start by losing two wickets of Shubman Gill and Tilak Varma in quick succession.

Once again Indian opener Shubman Gill has failed to deliver an impressive performance by scoring just 8 runs.

Indian skipper Suryakumar Yadav and Yashasvi Jaiswal steadied the innings by maintaining a stunning 112-run partnership.

However, Yashasvi Jaiswal after scoring 60 runs from 41 balls ( including 6 fours and 3 sixes) fell into the trap of Tabraiz Shamsi.

Nevertheless, Suryakumar Yadav maintained the momentum with his thunderous knock of 100 runs from 56 balls ( including 7 fours and 8 sixes).

SKY’s effective contribution propelled the men-in-blue to reach a total of 201-7 in 20 overs.

Suryakumar Yadav scored his 4th T20I hundred

Here’s how Suryakumar Yadav scored his 4th T20I hundred:

  • First 9 balls: 18 runs  (Total individual score: 18 runs from 9 balls)
  • Subsequent 20 balls: 17 runs (Total individual score: 35 runs from 29 balls)
  • Final 26 balls: 65 runs (Total individual score: 100 runs from 56 balls)

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: SOUTH AFRICA Batting

The South African batting order completely succumbed to the Indian bowlers.

Apart from these batsmen, the rest of the players have managed to make only a single-digit score:

  1. David Miller: 35 runs from 25 balls( including 2 fours and 2 sixes)
  2. Aiden Markram: 25 runs from 14 balls ( including  3 fours and 2 sixes)
  3. Donovan Ferreira: 12 runs from 11 balls ( including 1 six)

As a result, South Africa scored only 95-10 in 13.5 overs.

Kuldeep Yadav received a perfect birthday gift by grabbing 5 crucial wickets from these South African Batsmen:

  1. Donovan Ferreira:At 75-5 in 9.6 overs
  2. Keshav Maharaj: At 89-7 in 11.6 overs
  3. Nandre Burger: At 94-8 in 13.1 overs
  4. Lizaad Williams: At 94-9 in 13.3 overs
  5. David Miller: At 95-10 in 13.5 overs

Kuldeep Yadav’s exceptional spell of 17-5 in 2.5 overs includes an essential wicket of David MillerSouth Africa’s most dangerous batsman.

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023

IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023 Highlights: Suryakumar Yadav’s Impressive Records from his 4th T20I century

Suryakumar Yadav not only scored a ton but also achieved many stunning records that were witnessed during the IND vs SA 3rd T20I match 2023:

1. Most centuries in T20Is:

Ultimately, Suryakumar Yadav’s 4th T20I century joins the list of batsmen with most centuries in T20Is.

SKY leveled his records with Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell with 4 centuries in this game’s format.

2. Most number of T20I centuries for No.3 or below:

Suryakumar Yadav surpassed Glenn Maxwell’s record by scoring most number of T20I centuries, batting at the No.3 position or below:

  • Suryakumar Yadav: 4 centuries
  • Glenn Maxwell: 3 centuries

3. Second Maximum Number of Sixes in T20Is:

Suryakumar Yadav is the 2nd Batsman to smash a maximum number of sixes in T20Is. The Indian skipper struck 8 sixes in this match by surpassing Virat Kohli’s record to reach the 2nd position:

  • Rohit Sharma: 182 sixes in 140 innings
  • Suryakumar Yadav:123 sixes in 57 innings
  • Virat Kohli: 117 sixes in 107 innings
  • KL Rahul: 99 sixes in 68 innings
  • Yuvraj Singh: 74 sixes in 51 innings

4. Indian Batsman to Hit Maximum Sixes in a Single T20I Innings:

Suryakumar Yadav as an Indian  batsman, hit the third most number of sixes in a single T20I innings and once again joins the list along with Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul:

  • Rohit Sharma: 10 sixes against Sri Lanka in 2017
  • Suryakumar Yadav: 9 sixes against Sri Lanka in 2023
  • KL Rahul: 8 sixes against Sri Lanka in 2017
  • Suryakumar Yadav: 8 sixes against South Africa 2023

5. Second Indian Batsman to strike a century as a T20I captain:

Suryakumar Yadav is the second Indian batsman to strike a century as a T20I captain following Rohit Sharma. Also, SKY as an Indian captain scored the 3rd highest T20I score after the Hitman:

  • Rohit Sharma:118 runs against Sri Lanka in the year 2017
  • Rohit Sharma: 111 runs against West Indies in the year 2018
  • Suryakumar Yadav: 100 runs against South Africa in the year 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *