India vs South Africa 2023 squad: No Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in Limited Overs cricket

The latest update about the India vs South Africa 2023 squad makes fans crazy all over the globe. Team India has another interesting challenge in the coming days to prove their best abilities on South African soil against the toughest opposition.

Especially, many Indian fans were eagerly waiting to find out about Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli’s presence in the forthcoming series.

Surprisingly, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were excluded from the approaching limited-overs series.

The series between India and South Africa commences with the first T20I match on 10th December 2023. Team India will play a 3-match T20I and ODI series and conclude the series with two test matches.

Suryakumar Yadav, once again is appointed as the T20I captain against South Africa.

After the conclusion of the 5-match T20I series against Australia on 3rd December 2023, SKY along with his T20I squad will travel to South Africa. Exactly a week later, the Proteas on their home ground will offer a new challenge for Suryakumar Yadav as a T20I skipper.

Similarly, KL Rahul is appointed as the new skipper for the 3-match ODI series against South Africa.

On one side, fans will be excited that Rohit Sharma will lead Team India for the 2-match test series starting from 26th December 2023. King Kohli and the Hitman will finally return to international cricket, after a month gap from the 2023 World Cup finals.

At the same time, many fans are left questioning the non-inclusion of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the limited-overs cricket.

India vs South Africa 2023 squad: Reasons for Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli’s exclusion from the limited overs cricket

The BCCI clarifies Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli’s exclusion from the limited overs cricket for the approaching series against South Africa.

As the 2023 World Cup finals were concluded on 19th November 2023, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli couldn’t control the tears rolling out of their eyes after losing the match.

Moreover, the 3-match T20I series against South Africa starts just 20 days after the World Cup finals. Similarly, the 3-match ODI series starts less than a month before the CWC 2023 finals.

Finally, BCCI disclosed that Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli requested a small break from limited-overs cricket.

As a result, the top two run scorers of the CWC 2023 tournament were not included in the white-ball series of the India vs South Africa squad.

Exceptional Achievements of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in CWC 2023:

Specifically, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli needed a well-deserved break for the white ball series, not only to overcome their depression but also for their exceptional performances in the CWC 2023 tournament:

  1. Rohit Sharma as an Indian skipper achieves the record of longest winning streak in a World Cup. After winning all 10 matches in a tournament, Rohit Sharma surpassed the previous records of Sourav Ganguly- 8 matches, and MS Dhoni- 7 matches, in a single edition of the World Cup.
  2. Virat Kohli surpassed Sachin’s lifetime record by achieving his 50th ODI ton against New Zealand in the semi-finals.
  3. Rohit Sharma hits the maximum sixes as a batsman in the overall World Cup. Also, the hitman smashed the most number of sixes in this edition’s World Cup.
  4. Virat Kohli became the highest run scorer of the ICC World Cup 2023.
  5. Earlier Sachin Tendulkar was the leading run scorer in a single edition of the World Cup with  673 runs in 2003. Virat Kohli with 765 runs in 11 matches, breaks Sachin’s iconic record and becomes the leading run-scorer of all time in the World Cups.
  6. Though Rohit Sharma played a selfless innings, he is the 2nd leading run-scorer after Virat Kohli in this tournament with 597 runs.
India vs South Africa 2023 squad for 3 match T20I series

India vs South Africa 2023 squad: A complete list for 3 different formats

Here is the detailed list of India vs South Africa 2023 squad for all 3 different formats.

Apart from Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah is another star cricketer not included for the white-ball series against South Africa.

India vs South Africa 2023 squad for 3-match T20I series: December 10th to December 14th

1.Suryakumar Yadav (C )Batsman
2.Yashasvi JaiswalBatsman
3.Shubman GillBatsman
4.Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
5.Tilak VarmaBatsman
6.Rinku SinghBatsman
7.  Shreyas IyerBatsman
8. Ishan Kishan (wk)Batsman
9.Jitesh Sharma (wk)Batsman
10.Ravindra Jadeja (VC)All-rounder
11.Washington SundarAll-rounder
12. Ravi BishnoiBowler
13.Kuldeep YadavBowler
14.Mohammed SirajBowler
15.Mukesh KumarBowler
16.Deepak ChaharBowler

India vs South Africa 2023 squad for 3-match ODI series: December 17th to December 21st

1.KL Rahul (C/WK)Batsman
2.Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
3.Tilak VarmaBatsman
4.Rinku SinghBatsman
5.  Shreyas IyerBatsman
6.Sai SudharsanBatsman
7. Rajat PatidarBatsman
8. Sanju Samson (wk)Batsman
9.Axar PatelAll-rounder
10.Washington SundarAll-rounder
11.Kuldeep YadavBowler
12.Deepak ChaharBowler
13.Mukesh KumarBowler
14.Yuzvendra ChahalBowler
15.Avesh KhanBowler
16. Arshdeep SinghBowler

India vs South Africa 2023 squad for 2-match Test series:

1st Test match: December 26th to December 30th

2nd Test match: January 3rd to January 7th 2024

1. Rohit Sharma (C)Batsman
2.Shubman GillBatsman
3. Virat KohliBatsman
4.Shreyas IyerBatsman
5.Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
6.Yashasvi JaiswalBatsman
7.  Ishan Kishan (wk)Batsman
8. KL Rahul (wk)Batsman
9. Ravindra JadejaAll-rounder
10.Ravichandran AshwinAll-rounder
11.Shardul ThakurBowler
12.Mohammad SirajBowler
13.Mukesh KumarBowler
14.Mohammed ShamiBowler
15.Jasprit Bumrah (VC)Bowler
16.Prasidh KrishnaBowler

***NOTE***: Here “C” refers to “Captain”, “VC” refers to “Vice-Captain” and “WK” refers to “Wicket-Keeper”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *