IPL franchise Owners 2024: Detailed information about all 10 Team Owners

The Indian Premier League has gained a huge fan base globally for hosting many exciting matches and including highly talented players. However, the role of IPL franchise owners is overlooked. The team owners are completely busy as the IPL 2024 schedule for the first two weeks has been officially announced recently. 

Similar to the previous season, a total number of 10 teams will be participating in the forthcoming IPL 2024 tournament namely:

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  2. Gujarat Titans (GT)
  3. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  5. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
  6. Punjab Kings (PBKS)
  7. Rajasthan Royals (RR)
  8. Delhi Capitals (DC)
  9. Lucknow Supergiants (LSG)
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Generally, the IPL team owners are the people who operate their franchises in the rich cash league by investing billions of dollars to retain their ownership.

Many fans believe that a captain plays a major role in their team’s success. In reality, it is the IPL franchise owners, who are the real hidden heroes by playing crucial roles behind the screen. The team owners take investment and financial challenges knowing the opportunities and threats by making strategic planning and effective decisions.

Recently, during the IPL 2024 auction, many team owners participated in an intense bidding war to include premium quality players in the team.

Knowing about all IPL franchise owners, their backgrounds, and contributions to the team’s victory would be interesting.

IPL Franchise Owners in 2024: A complete list you need to know

Here is the list of all ten IPL franchise owners in 2024 who have invested a significant amount of money during the mini-auction held in Dubai on 19th December 2024:

1. Chennai Super Kings Owner: N. Srinivasan

The Chennai Super Kings franchise led by MS Dhoni and owned by N. Srinivasan is one of the most successful teams in IPL history. Under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, the Yellow Army won the IPL trophy five times in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023.

N. Srinivasan- the Managing Director of India Cements and former BCCI president is one of the successful IPL franchise owners after the Reliance Industries.

2. Mumbai Indians Owner: Reliance Industries

Reliance Industries purchased the Mumbai Indians franchise in 2008. Also, the team became successful by clinching the trophy 5 times under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

Reliance Industries is operated by Mukesh Ambani- one of the richest and most successful businessmen in the world.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders Owner: Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta

Three prominent figures in the entertainment industry namely Shah Rukh Khan (SRK), Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta own Kolkata Knight Riders. The trio purchased KKR in 2008 and were the defending champions in 2012 and 2014.

Mainly, SRK is among the most popular IPL franchise owners as fans worship him as the “King of Bollywood” industry. He has a huge fan base globally as the biggest Indian star actor.

4. Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner: Kavya Maran

Kavya Maran,  the co-owner of Sunrisers Hyderabad has created a sensation by purchasing Pat Cummins- the Australian World Cup-winning captain for INR  20.50 crores in the IPL 2024 auction. Also, she is the daughter of Kalanithi Maran, who is the owner of SRH as well as the Chairman and Managing Director of the Sun Group.

Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited handed over the team “Deccan Chargers” to Kalanithi Maran in 2012 for a huge sum of money after running into financial struggles. Later the team was renamed as “Sunrisers Hyderabad” which won its maiden IPL trophy in 2016.

5. Gujarat Titans Owner: CVC Capital Partners

In 2018, the CVC partners purchased most shares from the team “Gujarat Lions” team owner Intex Technologies. After the takeover by the CVC capital partners, they renamed the team “Gujarat Titans” by making its IPL debut in 2022.

However, the team under Hardik Pandya’s captaincy was successful by winning the trophy in its maiden IPL season and concluding as runner-up of IPL 2023. 

6. Punjab Kings Owner: Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia and Karan Paul

Bollywood actress Preity Zinta along with the businessmen  Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul jointly owns the Punjab Kings team in IPL 2024. Earlier, the franchise was purchased in 2008 with the name “Kings XI Punjab”

Unlike her acting career, Preity Zinta wasn’t able to achieve huge success compared to other IPL franchise owners. It is because the team has only managed to qualify for the playoffs in the IPL 2014. Despite the team reaching the finals in 2014 with lots of consistency, it lost to KKR by 3 wickets. 

7. Royal Challengers Bangalore Owner: United Spirits

The United Spirits associate of the British alcoholic beverages company owns Royal Challengers Bangalore. Earlier, Vijay Mallya purchased RCB in 2008 for  111.6 million USD. However, in 2016, Vijay Mallya stepped down after being unable to repay his loans. Furthermore, he handed over the ownership rights to United Spirits.

Moreover, RCB has been into the IPL finals 3 times in 2009, 2011 and 2016. But, the team haven’t won a trophy till now.

8. Lucknow Super Giants Owner: Dr Sanjiv Goenka

Sanjiv Goenka owns the Lucknow Super Giants team in the IPL. The team is part of the Rising Pune Supergiants (RPSG). The RPSG group headquartered in Kolkata (India), is one of the largest business groups in the country that holds interest in various sectors such as power and energy, retail, sports, and entertainment.

Sanjiv Goenka is the chairman of the RPSG group and his father R.P. Goenka established the company in 2011.

LSG has been in the playoffs in its first two seasons but hasn’t won the IPL trophy yet.

9. Delhi Capitals Owner: GMR Group and JSW Group

The  GMR Group and JSW Group jointly own the Delhi Capitals franchise. Initially, the GMR group purchased the team formerly known as “Delhi Daredevils” in 2008 for 84 million USD. However, the GMR group sold a 50% share to JSW Group in March 2018 for 69 million USD and renamed the team “Delhi Capitals”.

The team was able to enter the playoffs in 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2019. Despite, making it into their first IPL finals in 2020, they lost to Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets.

10. Rajasthan Royals Owner: Manoj Badale

Manoj Badale- a British businessman and co-founder of the Blenheim Chalcot (venture capital firm), owns Rajasthan Royals. He acquired the franchise in 2019 from the previous owners Jaipur IPL Cricket Private Ltd.

Earlier, BCCI suspended Jaipur IPL Cricket Private Ltd for two years for involving in a betting scandal.

However, Rajasthan Royals never managed to win a title again after the inaugural season in 2008. Out of the 16 seasons, RR reached playoffs 5 times. Also, the team reached the finals for the second time in 2022 but lost to Gujarat Titans by 7 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *