List Of Players Who Have Led The Indian Cricket After Virat resign

The Indian cricket team has seen its fair share of leaders across formats over the years. Dozens of top talents have come and gone as team skipper after the leadership of C.K. Nayudu and Ajit Wadekar.

However, few captains in the modern era have been able to surpass the performances of Virat Kohli. Team India has always had great leaders on the cricket pitch, but Kohli remains one of the country’s top stars of all time. Let’s see the players who have stepped up to replace Kohli as skipper across formats in recent years.

In Test Cricket

In Test cricket, four (4) players have come skipper after Kohli’s retirement in 2021. These players are Ajinkya Rahane (66.7% PCT from 6 games), KL Rahul (66.7% PCT after 3 games), Rohit Sharma (57.1% PCT after 7 games) and Jasprit Bumrah (scheduled for 1 Test game in 2023).

These figures are nowhere near Kohli’s impressive 58.9% PCT after 68 games as team skipper. His win PCT record as skipper is event better than that of MS Dhoni with only 8 more games played.

In T20 Cricket

Rohit Sharma (2017 to present day)

Rohit Sharma shared the T20 captaincy with Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya from 2017 to 2023. Rohit has continued to serve as Men in Blue skipper. He has a decent 76.4% win PCT as T20 skipper for Team India after 50+ matches in this format alone.

Shikhar Dhawan (2021), Rishabh Pant (2022), and Hardik Pandya (2022 and 2023)

Shikhar Dhawan (3 games), Rishabh Pant (5 games), and Hardik Pandya (11 games) have all been team skipper after Virat Kohli resigned from T20 captaincy. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Asian Games 2023)

Gaikwad will be the Team B skipper as India head to the Asian Games 2023 with a second-string side. This tournament will be his first performance as a T20 skipper for India.

In ODI Cricket

Five captains have been at the helm of affairs since Virat Kohli resigned from ODI cricket captaincy in 2021. See the list of players below, their games played, win PCT, and captaincy timeline:

  • Ajinkay Rahane (3 games with 10% PCT in 2015)
  • Rohit Sharma (26 games played with 73% PCT from 2017 to present)
  • Shikhar Dhawan (12 games played with 7% PCT from 2021 to 2022)
  • KL Rahul (7 games played with 57% PCT in 2022)
  • Hardik Pandya (1 match with 100% PCT in 2023)

Full List of Indian Cricket Team Captains (with Win PCT) Test Cricket

Test SkipperMatches PlayedWinsLossesTiesWin PCT
1Lala Amarnath1526713.33%
2Vijay Hazare141587.14%
3Polly Umrigar822425%
4Gulabrai Ramchand51222%
5Nari Contractor1222816.67%
6Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi409191222.5%
7Ajit Wadekar1644825%
8Sunil Gavaskar47983019.14%
9Bishan Singh Bedi22611527.27%
10Kapil Dev34472311.76%
11Dilip Vengsarkar102532%
12Ravi Shastri110010%
13Mohammad Azharuddin4714141929.79%
14Sachin Tendulkar25491216%
15Sourav Ganguly4921131542.86%
16Rahul Dravid25861132%
17Virender Sehwag42115%
18Anil Kumble1435621.42%
19MS Dhoni6027181545.00%
20Virat Kohli6840171158.82%
21Ajinkya Rahane640266.66%
22KL Rahul321066.67%
23Rohit Sharma742157.14%

Full List of Indian Cricket Team Captains since 2000: ODI Cricket

ODI SkipperYears of CaptaincyMatches PlayedWinLossTie/NRWin %
1Sourav Ganguly1999-20051467665553.90%
2Arhul Dravid2000-2007794233456%
3Anil Kumble2001110010%
4Virender Sehwag2003-20111275058.33%
5Mahendra Singh Dhoni2007-2018200110745/1159.52%
6Suresh Raina20101265154.54%
7Gautam Gambhir2010-2011660010%
8Virat Kohli2013-20219565271/270.43%
9Ajinkay Rahane2015330010%
10Rohit Sharma2017-Present26197073.07%
11Shikhar Dhawan2021-2022127327%
12KL Rahul2022743057.14%
13Hardik Pandya20231100100%


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *