Pakistan To Play With C Team In Asia Cup 2023?

The Pakistan C Team rumor gained traction when senior team players and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) started their row. Both parties are currently at loggerheads over financial issues ahead of Asia Cup 2023 and ODI World Cup 2023 tournaments.

Senior Pakistan players are not willing to sign a long-running central contract after the PCB failed to provide a suitable digital rights package to their cricketers.  

When Did the Last PCB Central Contract Expire?

The last central contract signed by Men in Green players ran out on June 30, 2023. PCB officials have been unable to get the contract renewed since the last deal expired without success. However, the PCB was keen to restrict players from taking part in foreign leagues in their new deal, causing players to reject signing an agreement altogether.

Why is the Pakistan C Team Rumor Becoming More Common?

Pakistan want more money from the PCB and greater control over their participation in foreign T20 leagues. At present, the PCB is not keen to offer players more money to represent the national team and are keen to curb T20 league participation of their best stars.

The Pakistan C Team rumor has become common in recent days from several blogs. These unconfirmed reports suggest that the PCB could be willing to field a third-string side if their current deal to players is not signed.

An unnamed source revealed the foundation behind these rumors:

The players’ point of view is that other cricket boards either are not involved in the sale of players digital rights or have a proper agreement with them on the sharing of revenues from this avenue…The PCB does give the players a share from their digital rights sales but the players feel it is not enough,””

Probable Squad for Teams Participating in Asia Cup 2023

Pakistan’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Abdullah Shafique,
  • Babar Azam (captain),
  • Faheem Ashraf,
  • Fakhar Zaman,
  • Haris Rauf,
  • Iftikhar Ahmed,
  • Imam-ul-Haq,
  • Mohammad Haris,
  • Nawaz,
  • Mohammad Rizwan,
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr,
  • Naseem Shah,
  • Salman Ali Agha,
  • Shadab Khan,
  • Shaheen Afridi.
  • Tayyab Tahir,
  • Usama Mir,

India’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Rohit Sharma (captain),
  • Virat Kohli,
  • Shreyas Iyer,
  • KL Rahul,
  • Shubman Gill,
  • Suryakumar Yadav,
  • Tilak Varma,
  • Ishan Kishan,
  • Hardik Pandya (v/captain),
  • Ravindra Jadeja,
  • Axar Patel,
  • Shardul Thakur,
  • Jasprit Bumrah,
  • Mohammed Shami,
  • Mohammed Siraj,
  • Kuldeep Yadav,
  • Prasidh Krishna,
  • Sanju Samson.

Nepal’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Aarif Sheikh,
  • Aasif Sheikh,
  • Arjun Saud
  • Bhim Sharki,
  • Dipendra Singh Airee,
  • Gulshan Jha,
  • Karan KC,
  • Kishore Mahato,
  • Kushal Bhurtel,
  • Kushal Malla,
  • Lalit Rajbanshi,
  • Mousom Dhakal,
  • Pratish GC,
  • Rohit Paudel (captain),
  • Sandeep Lamichhane,
  • Sompal Kami,
  • Sundeep Jora,

Bangladesh’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Afif Hossain,
  • Ebadot Hossain,
  • Hasan Mamhud,
  • Litton Das,
  • Mahedi Hasan,
  • Mehidy Hasan Miraz,
  • Mohammad Naim
  • Mushfiqur Rahim,
  • Mustafizur Rahman,
  • Najmul Hossain Shanto,
  • Nasum Ahmed,
  • Shakib Al Hasan (captain),
  • Shamim Hossain,
  • Shoriful Islam,
  • Tanjid Hasan Tamim,
  • Taskin Ahmed,
  • Towhid Hridoy

Afghanistan’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Ahmad, Fareed
  • Ahmad, Noor
  • Alikhil, Ikram
  • Farooqi, Fazalhaq
  • Gurbaz, Rahmanullah
  • Naveen-ul- Haq
  • Khan, Rashid
  • Khan, Zahir
  • Naib, Gulbadin
  • Nabi, Mohammad
  • Omarzai, Azmatullah
  • Rahman, Mujeeb Ur
  • Shah, Rahmat
  • Shahidi, Hashmatullah (captain)
  • Shinwari, Samiullah
  • Zadran, Ibrahim
  • Zadran, Najibullah
  • Zazai, Hazratullah

Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup 2023 Squad: 

  • Asalanka, Charith
  • Chameera, Dushmantha
  • de Silva, Dhananjaya
  • Hasaranga, Wanindu
  • Karunaratne, Dimuth
  • Mendis, Kusal (wk)
  • Nissanka, Pathum
  • Rajitha, Kasun
  • Samarawickrama, Sadeera
  • Shanaka, Dasun (captain)
  • Theekshana, Maheesh

Asia Cup 2023 Full Schedule and Group Teams

30 August, 2023Pakistan vs. NepalMultan, Pakistan
31 August, 2023Bangladesh vs. Sri LankaKandy, Sri Lanka
2 September, 2023Pakistan vs. IndiaKandy, Sri Lanka
3 September, 2023Bangladesh vs. AfghanistanLahore, Pakistan
4 September, 2023India vs. NepalKandy, Sri Lanka
5 September, 2023Afghanistan  v Sri LankaLahore, Pakistan
6 September, 2023A1 v B2Lahore, Pakistan
9 September, 2023B1 v B2Colombo, Sri Lanka
10 September, 2023A1 v A2Colombo, Sri Lanka
12 September, 2023A2 v B1Colombo, Sri Lanka
14 September, 2023A1 v B1Colombo, Sri Lanka
15 September, 2023A2 v B2Colombo, Sri Lanka
17 September, 2023FINALColombo, Sri Lanka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *