South Africa T20 League Winners List Of All Season

For many years, the South Africa T20 League has been entertaining all cricket fans to a great extent. Along with the SA20, it would be exciting to decode the South Africa T20 League Winners list of all seasons.

The South Africa T20 League is commonly known as the Betway SA20 for sponsorship reasons. It is a new version of the Twenty20 franchise cricket that has evolved from the CSA T20 Challenge.

Unfortunately, the opening match of the SA20 2024 between Sunrisers Eastern Cape and Joburg Super Kings was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to severe rain.

Nevertheless, fans were able to witness a full-fledged T20 game in the 2nd match of the tournament between MI Cape Town and Durban Super Giants.

Before the SA20 league was conducted, various domestic T20 matches were organized by Cricket South Africa which would be interesting to know along with the league winners of South Africa T20 Franchise cricket.

South Africa T20 League Winners List: From SA 20 to CSA T20 Challenge

Here is the list of South Africa T20 League Winners List starting from the SA 20 2023 to the CSA T20 Challenge:

1. SA 20 ( 2023- present):

Popularly known as Betway SA 20 league, the inaugural edition was conducted in 2023 with 6 different teams participating in South Africa’s Twenty20 Premier League namely:

  • Durban Super Giants
  • Joburg Super Kings
  • MI Cape Town
  • Paarl Royals
  • Pretoria Capitals
  • Sunrisers Eastern Cape

SA 20 tournament 2023 Winners List:

YearWinnerRunner Up
2023Sunrisers Eastern CapePretoria Capitals

Additionally, Sunrisers Eastern Cape was granted the “ Spirit of the Season” award. Also, here is the list of SA 20 award winners list in 2023:

Award WinnerPlayer NameTeam
Rising StarEathan BoschPretoria Capitals
Best Batsman of the SeasonJos ButtlerPaarl Royals
Best Bowler of the SeasonRoelof van der MerweSunrisers Eastern Cape
Player of the Season Aiden MarkramSunrisers Eastern Cape

2. CSA Provincial T20 Cup ( 2019- 22):

The CSA Provincial T20 Cup was organized after the Africa T20 Cup 2015-18.

It is an abridged version of the Africa T20 Cup consisting of only 6 teams in the tournament namely:

  • Border
  • Easterns
  • KwaZulu-Natal (Inland)
  • Limpopo
  • Mpumalanga
  • Northern Cape
  • South Western Districts

In 2020, the tournament wasn’t held due to the COVID-19 situation all over the world.

CSA Provincial T20 Cup: South Africa T20 League Winners List in 2023

YearWinnerRunner Up
2019EasternsKwaZulu-Natal Inland
2022South Africa U-19Northern Cape

3. Mzansi Super League (MSL from 2018-19):

The competition of the Mzansi Super League (MSL)  established by Cricket South Africa was the replacement of the failed T20 Global League. Each team will play twice against each other in a double-round-robin format.

Six different franchises that have participated in First Class and List-A cricket at the domestic level include:

  • Tshwane Spartans
  • Jozi Stars
  • Nelson Mandela Bay Giants
  • Durban Heat
  • Cape Town Blitz
  • Paarl Rocks

However, the league wasn’t able to run successfully in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19, and the eventually got canceled.

Mzansi Super League: South Africa T20 League Winners List in 2018 and 2019

YearWinnerRunner Up
2018Jozi StarsCape Town Blit
2019Paarl RocksTshwane Spartans

4. Africa T20 Cup ( 2015-18):

Cricket South Africa organized the Africa T20 Cup in 2015 by featuring a combination of provincial teams representing South Africa as well as other countries like Kenya, Namibia, and Zimbabwe.

Before it was replaced by the CSA Provincial T20 Cup, the league ran for almost 4 years.

A maximum number of 20 teams that participated in the Africa T20 Cup. Out of these only 4 teams namely Northerns, Eastern Province, KwaZulu-Natal Inland, and Gauteng became the winners of the tournament.

Africa T20 Cup: South Africa T20 League Winners List from 2015 to 2018

YearWinnerRunner Up
2015NorthernsKwaZulu-Natal Inland
2016Eastern ProvinceNorthern Cape
2017KwaZulu-Natal InlandFree State

5. CSA T20 Challenge ( 2003 to Present):

The Betway T20 Challenge is one of the most demanded T20 cricket leagues organized by Cricket South Africa (CSA).

Being one of the best consistent leagues, it was initially known as Standard Bank Pro20 which was organized from 2003 to 2010. Later, it was organized as the MiWay T20 Challenge in 2011.

Before it was changed CSA T20 Challenge in 2016, the Ram Slam T20 Challenge was conducted from 2012 to 2015.

Standard Bank Pro20:  South Africa T20 League Winners List from 2003 to 2010

These were the 6 teams that participated in Standard Bank Pro20 from 2003 to 2010 namely:

  • Cape Cobras
  • Dolphins
  • Diamond Eagles
  • Highveld Lions
  • Titans
  • Warriors
YearWinnerRunner Up
2003EaglesEastern Cape
2005EaglesCape Cobras
2006Highveld LionsCape Cobras
2008Cape CobrasEagles
2009WarriorsHighveld Lions
2010Cape CobrasWarriors

MiWay T20 Challenge: South Africa T20 League Winners List in 2011

An additional team of Impi ( Impalas Cricket Team) was included along with the other 6 teams of Standard Bank Pro20

YearWinnerRunner Up
2011TitansHighveld Lions ( also known as  DP World Lions)

Ram Slam T20 Challenge: South Africa T20 League Winners List from 2012 to 2015

The same six teams of Standard Bank Pro20 were continued for the Ram Slam T20 Challenge from 2012 to 2015.

YearWinnerRunner Up
2012Highveld LionsTitans
2013DolphinsCape Cobras
2014Cape CobrasKnights

CSA T20 Challenge: South Africa T20 League Winners List from 2016 to 2022

The CSA T20 2024 will take place from 8th March to 28th April 2024.

These are the 10 teams that are currently participating in the tournament:

  • Cape Cobras
  • Dolphins
  • Knights
  • Lions
  • North West
  • Rocks
  • Titans
  • Warriors
  • Western Province        
YearWinnerRunner Up
2020Imperial LionsDolphins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *