When did Team India lost the test series at home?

Team India is considered one of the most formidable teams to win the test series at home ground. But, have you ever wondered when was the last time that Team India lost the test series at home ground?

In the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023, India defeated Australia in the four-match test series with 2-1. There were teams like Australia and England that have managed to win the test match in India in the past decade. But, most of the teams couldn’t win a test series against India on the home ground.

Notably, in the past 10 years, India has featured in 16 test series. Also, it includes the 2 one-off test matches against Afghanistan and Bangladesh. Out of which, Team India was undefeated with 36 wins, 3 losses, and 7 draw matches in tests.

Since 2013, Team India lost only 4 test matches on its home ground, including the recent ones. Lastly, it was in 2012 when India lost the Test series at home against England.

Similarly, in 2021, England won a test match against India by 277 runs in Chennai.

Recently, England clinched a great win against India in the first match of the test series. Thereby, the Three Lions take the lead with 1-0 in the 5-match test series. In the Bazball vs Spin ball approach contest, the Bazball approach by the England cricket team dominated India by a 28-run win.

Moreover, it was the first time that Team India failed to win a test match at home after leading with 100+ runs in the first innings.

Facts about how Team India lost the test series at home against England in 2012

In 2012, England toured India for a 4-match test series. India won the first test match with a massive 9-wicket win at Ahmedabad. At one point, fans were confident that Team India would dominate the entire series.

However, in the next two test matches, England won by 10 wickets (at Mumbai) and 7 wickets (at Kolkata). As a result, India had to face a humiliating defeat by allowing the visiting side to take a lead of 2-1 until the final test match of the series.

The Indian batsmen were unable to face the fierce spin-bowling attack of Graeme Swann and Monty Panesar in Mumbai and Kolkata. Additionally, Kevin Pietersen along with the England skipper Alastair Cook turned the tables against India.

Still, India had the chance to level the four-match test series. It was only possible if Team India would have won the final test match of the series.

Unfortunately, the 4th test match concluded with a draw result. Consequently, the England cricket team scripted a famous win in India.

Team India lost the test series at home: Records in the last 40 years

In the past 40 years, it was 6 times Team India lost the test series at home ground, starting from 1983 to 2012 against these different teams: 

  1. West Indies (1983): 5-0 in the 6-match test series
  2. England (1984): 2-1 in the 5-match test series
  3. Pakistan (1987): 1-0 in the 5-match test series.
  4. South Africa (2000): 2-0 in the 2-match test series
  5. Australia (2004): 2-1 in the 4-match test series
  6. England ( 2012): 2-1 in the 4-match test series

In these 40 years, only 6 captains have managed to clinch the trophy in India with conquering smiles on their lips namely:

  1. Clive Lloyd (1983-84): West Indies
  2. David Gower (1984-85): England
  3. Imran Khan (1986-87): Pakistan
  4. Hansi Cronje (1999-00): South Africa
  5. Adam Gilchrist (2004-05): Australia
  6. Alastair Cook (2012-13): England

India’s dominance in the test cricket series at home

In the last 10 years, no other overseas teams have been able to breach the Indian fortress. There aren’t any records that Team India lost the test series at home in these years by winning 16 out of 16 contests. The Indian cricket team was able to achieve these exceptional records under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma in the specified period.

Undoubtedly, it’s the longest winning streak that no other team has achieved in the past on their home ground. Only these captains managed to win the test series in a trot at home namely:

  1. Steve Waugh (Australia): 10 series from 1994 to 2000
  2. Ricky Ponting (Australia): 10 series from 2004 to 2008
  3. Clive Lloyd and Vivian Richards (West Indies ): 8 series from 1976 to 1986

Earlier, in the 1970s and 1980s, India had a winning percentage of 28 in the home test series. However, the percentage gradually transformed to 82 between 2013 and 2023.

Despite losing the recent first test match against England, Team India still has the chance of making it 17 in a row.

Interestingly, the hosts need to win at least 3 out of 4 remaining test matches to turn the tables against England. They need to implement the same method in contrast to England winning the remaining matches to seal the series with a win in 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *